Home | UTIP | Publications | Vitae | Contact  

James Kenneth Galbraith


Current Position: Lloyd M. Bentsen, Jr. Chair in Government/ Business Relations, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, and Professor, Department of Government, The University of Texas at Austin.

: Chair, LBJ School Budget Council, 2002-2004. Director, Ph.D. program in Public Policy, 1995-1997; Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs, 1990-2002, Associate Professor, 1986 - 1990; Visiting Associate 1985-86.

Visiting Scholar, The Brookings Institution, 1985.

Executive Director, Joint Economic Committee, Congress of the United States, 1981 - 1982; Deputy Director, 1983 - 1984.

Economist, Committee on Banking, Finance and Urban Affairs, United States House of Representatives, 1975-76 and 1977-80.

Visiting Lecturer, Department of Economics, University of Maryland, 1979-1980.

Teaching Fields: Macroeconomics; Inequality; Economic Development; Social Science Research Paradigms; History of Economic Thought; Microeconomic Policy Analysis.

Research Fields: Inequality; Macroeconomic policy; Comparative economic and development policy; Economics of Peace and Security.


Ph.D., Yale University, May 1981
M. Phil., Yale University, May 1978
M.A., Yale University, December 1977
A.B., Magna Cum Laude, Harvard University, June 1974.


Carnegie Scholars Program, 2003-2004.
Fulbright Distinguished Lecturer, China, Summer 2001.
Marshall Scholar, King's College, University of Cambridge, England, 1974-75.
Texas Excellence in Teaching Award, 1990.

Outside Affiliations: Senior Scholar, Levy Economics Institute; Chair, Board of Directors, Economists for Peace and Security; Honoray Vice President, Americans for Democratic Action. Nonresident Fellow, Center for Global Development. Associate Member, Cambridge Center for Economic and Public Policy, University of Cambridge.